Talks and Presentations

Upcoming

Come and join in with my upcoming talks and presentations

May

Monday 1oth: 1:1 session on Caring for Negatives

Wednesday 19th: DCD Live Lab. Come and enjoy the creations by the Ryerson students inspired by Dance Collection Danse. 10.00 PDT, 13.00 EDT, 14.00 ADT/14.30 NL, 18.00 GMT http://bit.ly/DCD-Labs-Live

Thursday 20th: Concode – Coding in Cultural Heritage. 17.00 to 18.00 GMT

‘Digital archives’ are dominated by ‘analogue thinking’: they reflect the physical embodiment of the institution and/or its organisational culture over and above the needs of the user. 

DCD Labs, a collaborative project with Dance Collection Danse is turning this around. It puts the user needs at the heart of all it does. DCD Discover is the result, built by the user for the user.

Gavin Starks, Director of Dgen, will describe his vision for ‘digital archives’, and the importance of digital-first and for building for people not things. ‘We never start with code. We ask what people want first.’ Gavin Starks, July 2020. 

We will take a tour of DCD Discover, giving you the opportunity to add your archives, comment and join in this user designed iterative process. https://www.concode.info/events

Tuesday 25th: Filling your Covid-19 CV Gaps. Institute of Conservation, Emerging Professionals Network. Panel Discussion

Wednesday 26th: ARA Together. Sustainable Record Keeping

Previous

Podcasts

Focus on Photos
Conservation on a Budget
Looking after your Conservator